I’ve got mighty plans for these aubergines

As I write, there are 2 aubergines hidden under a packet of organic peppers* and a head of broccoli** in the fridge. Yes, I keep my veggies in the fridge. No, I don’t feel silly about it either. Most of my day I’m at the office, away from my veggies, and I think it’s safest place for them. And me. Nobody likes tears at dinner time. Especially when I had my heart set on a veggies for a recipe and I find they’re mouldy, gone off…

I get sad when I have to throw out food. Not only do I disagree with it morally but practically too. I’ve got mad kitchen skillz, I’m organised enough to cook, clean, eat, repeat, and I can afford to throw a couple of nice things into the shopping trolley now and then.There’s privilege in that. Here’s to accepting responsibility in the kitchen!

So, with that responsibility and lingering hunger in my belly, here are a few ideas about what to make next:

  • Aubergine lasagne, with layers of aubergine, tomato and basil sauce, with mozzarella and Parmesan-style cheese
  • Stuffed Aubergines, with a smokey tomato and red pepper sauce.
  • Pasta alla Norma, pasta with aubergine, garlic, tomatoes and basil
  • Caponata, Sicilian aubergine stew, with a sweet and sour sauce.

I’ll write about what I make later on this week.

Oh the suspense!

*I’ll probably throw in the yellow pepper into the Caponata, if I make that. I’ll find a home for it, don’t you worry.

**That broccoli will go towards my Broccoli and Chili Pasta.

xo

Leave a Reply

